top of page

Getting Inside the Mind of a 'Singing Podiatrist' !


Dr. Turner posing in front of her Strut Orthotics sign, smiling

A Fun Interview by Holly Faris ...

Holly: "Why Feet?"

Dr. Turner: “Feet seemed so simple and straightforward. I just wanted to be an independent person, and podiatry seemed like a good idea at 26. As it turns out, I have foot problems of my own, which I have successfully treated (luckily).” Holly: "What Foot Problems Have You Had?"

Dr. Turner: “I got my father’s feet. But unlike him, I’ve tried to become a 10k runner. My feet are still unhappy about that. Basically, I have really, REALLY high arches. I guess my biggest foot problem is that I have to wear sensible shoes. Which does ‘cramp my style’ sometimes.”

Holly: "What Do You Love Most About Being A Podiatrist After All These Years?"

Dr. Turner: “I love having a lot of very practical and useful knowledge, and being able to give people the ability to come limping in and leap away.”

Holly: "What Are Your Biggest Foot-Peeves?" Dr. Turner: “Well, really thick toenails are not the funnest part of the job. But I switched to specializing in orthotics a few years ago. I guess it has more to do with the people attached to the feet. And my biggest complaint is when people get orthotics, are not happy with the results, and do not communicate. One of my superpowers is troubleshooting problems with orthotics. People cannot get medical care and expect it to be perfect. The only way doctors can do a good job is when their patients tell them if their treatment is working or not.”

Holly: "What Advice Would You Give To Young People Like Me, For Their Long-Term Foot Care?" Dr. Turner: “Like with everything, for young people, I would say… don’t worry about the future. However, if you take the time to really know your body and listen to it at a young age, then, you’ll be able to feel how you feel now for a very long time. If you have obvious problems, like bunions, or flat feet, or consistent/repetitive pain, see somebody who can make a real difference for you. And most importantly, you can do your own research, but trust people who specialize in what they do.”

Holly: "I See Older People Who Have Significant Foot Issues And Have Given Up On Doing Something About It... What Can I Tell Them?"

Dr. Turner: “Yes, you’re running into the classic context of resignation that plagues many people. In some cases, yes, they are older. One thing that might work is to share your enthusiasm and your optimism and tell them that anything is possible. Which it is. Also...you can slip them my card... (chuckles).”

Holly: "Why Are You Called The ‘Singing Podiatrist’?"

Dr. Turner: "Well, to explain that, I’d have to take you to the Yale Hotel, 19 years ago, when I had an epiphany on the dance floor and decided to become a musician. That’s how I became a singer/songwriter. The ‘Singing Podiatrist’ is a clever marketing tool."

bottom of page